Skidaway Island United Methodist Church is part of a church with a long history that spans the globe.
The United Methodist Church grew out of the 18th-century Anglican Church, with the ministry of John and Charles Wesley, who served on Georgia’s coast in the 1730s and preached on Skidaway Island in 1736. Two hundred and fifty years later, in 1983, Skidaway Island United Methodist Church started weekly services expanding from a condominium to our current sanctuary.
The photograph to the right shows our church’s historical marker, which was dedicated in a special worship service on May 29, 2016. The plaque honors Skidaway Island’s unique role in the development of Methodism in America.
Groundbreaking for Sanctuary
Construction of Bailey Hall
Timeline of Events
1979 Our current 7.9 acres of land was purchased on Skidaway Island.
1983 An organizational meeting with those interested in forming a
new church was held with Dr. Ralph Bailey, who was to be the
first pastor of the church.
1984 In February, 35 charter members joined the newly established
congregation and in November, the first worship service was
held in a modular chapel.
1987 Ground was broken for the construction of a new 140 seat chapel.
1988 Rev. Jim Giddens was appointed to be the first full time pastor.
1993 Construction was completed on the current Fellowship Hall
and the Memorial Garden.
1995 Sunday attendance outgrew the Chapel so Bailey Hall was
renovated to allow for worship.
1999 Membership reached 750 and ground was broken for the
current Sanctuary and Education building.
2007 Membership continued to increase, a prayer labyrinth was
constructed and a church in India, “Skidaway East,” was developed.
2009 A fire damaged Bailey Hall and the Education wing.
2013 Church's 30th year and Rev. Jim Giddens celebrated 25 years of
ministry at SIUMC.